Frost Place Chapbook Competition

Update on the 2022 Frost Place Chapbook Competition

The Frost Place, which administers the annual Frost Place Chapbook Competition, has hit unavoidable delays in the administration of this year’s competition. They have assured Bull City Press that all manuscripts will be read in accordance with competition guidelines, but the timeline has been pushed back. Attendance at the Frost Place Poetry Seminar and the option to live and write in The Frost Place House-Museum will be awarded in 2023. Bull City Press remains committed to publishing the winning collection in a timely fashion once the final selections are made. Thank you for your patience.

Because the Frost Place is still working on the 2022 competition, Bull City Press will not be sponsoring a 2023 competition. 

Each manuscript is delivered to two preliminary readers . Only the manuscript, stripped of identifying material but inclusive of any text notes, is sent to the readers and, if chosen as a finalist, then sent on to the final judge. Preliminary readers are asked to notify the press if the work in a submitted manuscript is familiar to them, in which case it will be reassigned, without identifying material, to another reader.

Our preliminary readers for the contest are selected by Bull City Press and The Frost Place and are published poets who have received a graduate degree in creative writing or literature. Our readers look for beautifully-crafted work, manuscripts that have a cohesive shape and feel like complete chapbooks.  They look to present a wide range of excellent work to the final judge.

In the event that the final judge chooses no manuscript for publication, all contest fees will be returned.

Final notification of the contest winner and contest finalists will be provided by e-mail to all contest entrants by May 2022.


Rajiv Mohabir

Rajiv Mohabir’s first collection The Taxidermistʻs Cut (Spring 2016) was selected by Brenda Shaughnessy for the 2014 Intro Prize in Poetry at Four Way Books. His second manuscript The Cowherd’s Son won the 2015 Kundiman Prize (Tupelo Press in May 2017). He was also awarded the Harold Morton Landon Translation Award from the Academy of American Poets, and a 2015 PEN/Heim Translation Fund Grant for his translation of Lalbihari Sharma’s I Even Regret Night: Holi Songs of Demerara (Kaya Press 2019), published originally in 1916. With Kazim Ali, Mohabir edited the Global Anglophone Indian foilio for POETRY Magazine in 2019. His poems have been recognized with numerous awards such as the 2015 AWP Intro Journal Award and the 2014 Academy of American Poet’s Prize for the University of Hawai‘i. His poem “Dove” appears in Best American Poetry 2015. Other poems and translations appear in journals such as Quarterly West, Guernica, The Collagist, and many more.

Mohabir holds a BA from the University of Florida in religious studies, an MSEd in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages from Long Island University, Brooklyn, and an MFA in poetry and literary translation from Queens College, CUNY where he was Editor in Chief of Ozone Park Literary Journal. He received his PhD in English from the University of Hawai’i and is currently Translations Editor at Waxwing Journal and teaches in the BFA/MFA program in the Writing, Literature, and Publishing department at Emerson College.

For more details please check out his website: http://www.rajivmohabir.com

**Circumstances related to COVID and safety guidelines may require that some on-site opportunities transition into online events as we assess risk the closer we get to summer 2022.


2021 Winner (selected by Tiana Clark)

Ae Hee Lee, Connotary 

2021 Editors’ Selection

Christian Collier, The Gleaming of the Blade

2021 Finalists

A.D. Lauren-Abunassar, Things Beneath the Sky
Geoff Anderson, Bones & Begonias
Jalen Eutsey, Dinner & a Movie
James Hoch, Radio Static
Erin Miller, Ripening Kind
Lucy Wainger, In Life There Are Many Things
Kevin West, Each Lie that Pollutes the Body
John White, Big Black Good Man

2020 Winner (selected by Patrick Donnelly)

Armen Davoudian, Swan Song

2020 Editors’ Selections

Afua Ansong, Black Ballad
Michael Bazzett, The Temple

2020 Finalists

Ae Hee Lee, Changeling
Susannah Lodge-Rigal, Bare/Bearing/Barely/Bore
Mia Malhotra, Mothersalt, A Lyric
Margaret Reges, Somewhere In The Branches
Ryann Stevenson, Call
Dujie Tahat, Uninvited Guests

2019 Winner (selected by Eduardo C. Corral)

Cassandra J. Bruner, The Wishbone Dress

2019 Editors’ Selection

Tariq Luthun, How the Water Holds Me

2019 Finalists

Darrel Alejandro Holnes, Mama’s Boy
Patrycja Humienik, Origami Mouth
Rachel Inez Marshall, Mariposa
Rachel Mennies, The Teenage Girl Understands
Erin Miller, Eventually, Some Sort of Monster
Meghann Plunkett, Wild and Dangerous
Nomi Stone, Fieldworkers of the Sublime
Angela Torres, What Happens is Neither

2018 Winner (selected by Sandra Lim)

Yuki Tanaka, Séance in Daylight

2018 Editors’ Selection

Jim Whiteside, Writing Your Name on the Glass

2018 Finalists

Kaveh Bassiri, 99 Names of Exile
Charlie Clark, Cocktail Parties in the City of the Dead
Nava EtShalom, Fortunately
Emily Viggiano Saland, Trajectory.
Lena Moses-Schmitt, True Mistakes
Philip Schaefer, What I Love About Myself I Look for in Others
Paul Tran, The Hour I First Believed
David Welch, Wonderful

2017 Winner (selected by Diane Seuss)

Conor Bracken, Henry Kissinger, Mon Amour

2017 Editors’ Selection

Leila Chatti, Tunsiya / Amrikiya

2017 Finalists

Charlie Clark, Cocktail Parties in the City of the Dead
Marlin M. Jenkins, Psalms for the Rioting
Amanda Moore, Requeening
Christopher Nelson, Winterseed
Seif-Eldeine Och, Voices of a Forgotten Letter
Samuel Piccone, Pupa
Philip Schaefer, Hymn Gasoline
Mark Taksa, SPEAK Risk
Seema Yasmin, No English

2016 Winner (selected by Afaa Michael Weaver)

Tiana Clark, Equilibrium

2016 Editors’ Selection

Chloe Honum, Then Winter

2016 Finalists

L.A. Johnson, Little Climates
Edgar Kunz, This Close
Caitlin Reid, Almagest
Marc Sheehan, Limits to the Salutary Effects of Upper Midwestern Melancholy 
Katrina Vandenberg, Conservatory 

2015 Winner (selected by Jennifer Grotz)

Anders Carlson-Wee, Dynamite

2015 Editors’ Selections

Michael Martone, Memoranda
Anna Ross, Figuring

2015 Finalists

Elly Bookman, Recession Dreams
Raven Jackson, little violences
L.A. Johnson, Little Climates
Alessandra Lynch, Wolf & Root
Philip Schaefer, [Hideous] Miraculous
Marc Sheehan, Limits to the Salutary Effects of Upper Midwestern Melancholy
Monica Sok, Year Zero

2014 Winner (selected by David Baker)

Lisa Gluskin Stonestreet, The Greenhouse

2014 Editors’ Selection

Emilia Phillips, Beneath the Ice Fish Like Souls Look Alike

2014 Finalists

Dan Albergotti, No Freedom
Jeremy Bass, Passenger
Mark Jay Brewin, Jr., El Camino and Other Poems
Kathryn Stripling Byer, The Vishnu Bird
Matt Donovan, Every Last Thing
Elizabeth T. Gray, Jr., History
Autumn McClintock, No Lore, No Mutiny
Winnona Elson Pasquini, And the Stars from the Sky Are Ripped
Christian Teresi, Like Shining from Shook Foil
Anna Welch, From Bone
Angela Veronica Wong, Elsa

2013 Winner (selected by Patrick Donnelly)

Jill Osier, Should Our Undoing Come Down Upon Us White

2013 Finalists

Liz Ahl, Rendering Eye
Idris Anderson, Elizabeth I
Jeremy Bass, 
Lisa Fay Coutley, Tether
Dante Di Stefano, Dreaming of Orchids
Sarah Gelston, The Oar
Michael Grabell, Macho Man
Leonard Kress, Surplus
Becca J. R. Lachman, Our Barn’s Leper Face
Diane LeBlanc, Sudden Geography
Alicia Rabins, A Book of Manuals
Jose Reyes, Present Values
Sarah Sousa, Split the Crow
Karen Terrey, How to Read Signs
Casey Thayer, Lake the Shape of My Hand
Angela Voras-Hills, Nothing to Undo
Abigail Wender, The Other-Branch
Stefanie Wortman, Valley of Correction

Bull City Press

We love readers, we love writers.