Upcoming Readings

The House Party Reading Series

a salon-style reading series

Hosted in Hillsborough and Durham, NC, the House Party Reading Series is a chance for writers and readers to hear some of the most exciting voices in contemporary letters… and then have a party. Head chef Ashley Nissler prepares the spread and the Bull City Press gang brings authors from all over the country to read new work. To commemorate the evening, Gabrielle Bates creates original artwork for our broadside series.

Upcoming Readings

May Readers

May 18, 2018: Evana Bodiker, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo, Stephanie Elizondo Griest, & Janine Joseph

Evana Bodiker’s first chapbook, Ephemera, won the 2017 Robert Phillips Poetry Chapbook Prize from Texas Review Press, and this reading will be her Chapel Hill launch party! Bodiker is the editor-in-chief of Cellar Door, and a senior at UNC-Chapel Hill.

Marcelo Hernandez Castillo is a poet, essayist, translator, and immigration advocate. He is the author of Cenzontle (BOA Editions, 2018), which was chosen by Brenda Shaughnessy as the winner of the 2017 A. Poulin, Jr. prize. His first chapbook, DULCE, was chosen by Chris Abani as the winner of the Drinking Gourd Poetry Prize and will be published by Northwestern University press in the fall of 2018. His memoir, Children of the Land is forthcoming from Harper Collins.

Stephanie Elizondo Griest is a globe-trotting author from South Texas. Her five books include Around the Bloc: My Life in Moscow, Beijing, and HavanaMexican Enough; and All the Agents & Saints: Dispatches from the U.S. Borderlands. She has also written for the New York Times, Washington Post, VQR, The Believer, and the Oxford American. An Associate Professor of Creative Nonfiction at UNC, she has performed on five continents, in capacities ranging from a Moth storyteller to a literary ambassador for the U.S. State Department. One place she was thrilled to leave was Planet Cancer. She’s been in remission since December.

Janine Joseph was born and raised in the Philippines and Southern California. She is the author of Driving without a License (Alice James Books, 2016), winner of the 2014 Kundiman Poetry Prize and a finalist for the 2017 Oklahoma Book Award. She is a member of Undocupoets, serves on the Advisory Board for the Center for Poets & Writers at OSU-Tulsa, and is a contributing editor for TongueCurrently, she lives in Stillwater, OK, where she is an Assistant Professor of Creative Writing at Oklahoma State University.

August Readers

August 4, 2018: Matthew Broaddus, Michael Parker, & Anna Rose Welch

Matt Broaddus is a Cave Canem fellow and author of a chapbook, Space Station (Letter [r] Press, 2018). His writing has appeared or is forthcoming in Black Warrior Review, The Offing, and Small Po[r]tions. He’s a recipient of a Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation Creative Fellowship for 2018 and a 2018 Artist Residency from the Millay Colony for the Arts. He lives in Blacksburg, Virginia.

Michael Parker is the author of six novels – Hello Down There, Towns Without Rivers, Virginia Lovers, If You Want Me To Stay, The Watery Part of the World, and All I Have In This World–and three collections of stories, The Geographical Cure and Don’t Make Me Stop Now.   His short fiction and nonfiction have appeared in various journals including Five Points, the Georgia Review, The Southwest Review, Epoch, the Washington Post, the New York Times Magazine, Oxford American, Shenandoah, The Black Warrior Review, Trail Runner, Runner’s World and Men’s Journal.  He has received fellowships in fiction from the North Carolina Arts Council and the National Endowment for the Arts, as well as the Hobson Award for Arts and Letters, and the North Carolina Award for Literature. A graduate of UNC-Chapel Hill and the University of Virginia, he is the Vacc Distinguished Professor in the MFA Writing Program at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro and since 2009 has been on the faculty of the Warren Wilson Program for Writers.  He lives in Greensboro, North Carolina and Austin, Texas. His most recent collection is Everything, Then and Since.

Anna Rose Welch holds an MFA from Bowling Green State University. Her work has appeared in Best New Poets 2014, Kenyon Review Online, Guernica, Los Angeles Review of Books Quarterly Journal, The Paris-American, and other publications. She lives in Erie, PA, where she is the chief editor of a pharmaceutical publication and a violinist in a local chamber orchestra. Her first book of poems, We, the Almighty Fires, was published by Alice James Books in April, 2018.

October 6, 2018: Gabrielle Bates, Michael Collier, Sonya Larson, & Dana Levin

November 10, 2018: Jenny George & Sarah Rose Nordgren